50 Mind Blowing Skull Tattoos

0

Skull tattoos always have and, I’d imagine, always will be popular. While some may think of them as morbid, others will disagree.

One of the reasons skull tattoos are so popular is because they’re so versatile. They’re found in pretty much all tattoo styles; from old-school to new-school to realism.

You will find skulls in a huge variety of tattoo designs. Whether it be a Mexican-inspired sugar skull, a macabre realism piece or an old school-style death’s head moth, they’re everywhere. And because of this, they can represent a number of things.

The most obvious of their meanings is, of course, death. For example, skull tattoos can symbolise a person’s acceptance of their own mortality. It may show that the person understands that death is simply part of life, and as such, should be embraced.

Skulls are also used to celebrate those who have passed away. The Mexican sugar skull’s origins lie in Dia de los Muertos – the Day of the Dead. During this holiday, people create sugar skulls to dedicate to somebody close to them who has died.

However, skulls in other forms represent things other than death too. For example, Celtic Skull tattoos. Celts believed that the skull was the ‘seat of the soul’, so these designs symbolise things such as power and understanding.

Animal skulls also bring different perspectives to the table. An example of this are bull skull tattoos, which represent strength and courage.

Want to see some awesome examples of skull tattoo designs?

Below, we have put together a collection of FIFTY mind-blowing skull tattoos for you to take a look at.

Colorful Realism Skull Tattoo
Tattoo by Clayton Dias @claytondias
Colour Tattoo of Animal Skull
Tattoo by Irina Zaitceva @7owlsoffire
Black & Grey Tattoo of Roses & Skull
Tattoo by Adam Lakimii @adam_lakimii
Colour Tattoo of a Skull & Candle
Tattoo by Adrian Cier @adriancier
Colour Sleeve Tattoo of Roses and Candle
Tattoo by Alex De Pase @alexdepase
Black & Grey Realism Tattoo of a Skull in Shrowd
Tattoo by Andre Fila @andrefilatattoo

Colour Tattoo of a Skull, Rose & Snake with a red tint
Tattoo by Andres Makishi @andresmakishi
Colour Tattoo of a Skull & Revolver
Tattoo by Justin Buduo @artofbuduo
Egyptian themed colour skull tattoo
Tattoo by Ata Ink @ata.ink
Colour Tattoo of Skull, candle and Woman
Tattoo by Akbar Tawakkal @ata.ink
Colour Leg Sleeve of Skull & Woman
Tattoo by Bruno Moreira @brunomoreiratattoo
Colour Tattoo of Skull & Death Moth
Tattoo by Bruno Moreira @brunomoreiratattoo
Colour Tattoo of Skull & Smoke
Tattoo by Butenko Serik @butenko_serik
Black & Grey Tattoo of Skull & Butterfly
Tattoo by Dario Castillo @castillo.dario
Black & Grey Tattoo of spider web and skull
Tattoo by Egon Weiss @egon_weiss
Colour Tattoo of Skull & Crown
Tattoo by Dmitry Gapodchenko @gapach_tattoo
Colour Tattoo of a Realistic Skull
Tattoo by Rich Harris @harristattooart
Black & Grey Tattoo of a Skull Heart
Tattoo by Hernan Yepes @hernanyepes_art
Black & Grey Tattoo of Skull
Tattoo by Hugo Feist @hugofeist
Colour Realism Tattoo of a Skull & Candle
Tattoo by Ivan Cubas @ivancubastatt
Black & Grey Tattoo of Skull & All Seeing Eye
Tattoo by James Wilbraham@jameswtattoo
Colour Realism Tattoo of a Skull, Purple Rose and Deathmoth
Tattoo by Jordan Croke @jordancroketattoo
Black & Grey Realism Tattoo of Skull & Snake
Tattoo by Kir Delgado @kir_tattoo
Colour Realism Tattoo of a Skull
Tattoo by Milenko Belić @kuki_manster

Colour Tattoo of a Skull with Red Swirls
Tattoo by Luciano Prato @lucianoprato92
Colour Sticker Style Tattoo of a Skull & Dagger
Tattoo by Luke Cormiertattoo @lukecormiertattoo
Colour Tattoo of a Skull on Flames
Tattoo by Martin Sjoberg @martinsjoooberg
Colour Realism Back Tatoo of a Skull & Hands by Ruslan Millington
Tattoo by Ruslan Millington @millington_tattoo
Black & grey tattoo of a skull by Nicke Wencel
Tattoo by Nicke Wencel @nickewencel_tattoo
Black & Grey Tattoo Collaboration of a Skull by Alex Oberov &  Anton Tonik
Tattoo by Alex Oberov & Anton Tonik@oberov.tattoo @antontonik
Realistic Tattoo of Colour Skull & Cross by Oleg Petrovsky
Tattoo by Oleg Petrovsky @petrovski_tattoo
Colour Tattoo of Skull & Bat Skull by PierPaolo Rizzitiello
Tattoo by PierPaolo Rizzitiello @pierpaolotattoo
Colour Realism Tattoo of a Skull & Mushrooms by Daria Pirojenko
Tattoo by Daria Pirojenko @pirojenko_tattoo
Colour Tattoo of Skull & Brain by Daria Pirojenko
Tattoo by Daria Pirojenko @pirojenko_tattoo
Colour Tatoo of a Skull & Starwoman by Rah Temperley
Tattoo by Rah Temperley @rahrahtattoo
Black & Grey Tattoo of a Skull & all Seeing Eye by Scoobs Marklew
Tattoo by Louise “Scoobs” Marklew @scoobstattoo
Watercolour Tattoo of Skull by Renato Vivoli
Tattoo by Renato Vivoli @sderenato.tattooartist
Colour Tattoo of Skull & Music by Shooby
Tattoo by Shooby @shooby_tattoo
Black & Grey Tattoo of Skull, Stairs & Lantern by Simon Smith
Tattoo by Simon Smith @simon_smith_tattoos
Colour Tattoo of Skull & Eagle by Paulina Lukasik
Tattoo by Paulina Lukasik@tattoopaulina
Black & Grey Tattoo of Skull & Rose by Teej Poole
Tattoo by Teej Poole @teejpoole
Colour Arm Tattoo of an Inca Skull by Artem Tsytsylin
Tattoo by Artem Tsytsylin @tema_arty
Colour Realism Tattoo of a Skull by Tin Machado
Tattoo by Tin Machado @tin_machado
Colour Hand Tattoo of Skull & Eye by Tin Machado
Tattoo by Tin Machado @tin_machado
Black & Grey Tattoo of Skull by Tobias Agustini
Tattoo by Tobias Agustini @tobiasagustinitattoo
Tattoo of Skull in Indian Headdress by Tobias Agustini
Tattoo by Tobias Agustini @tobiasagustinitattoo
Black & Grey Tattoo of 3 Skulls by Tobias Agustini
Tattoo by Tobias Agustini @tobiasagustinitattoo
Colour Skull Tattoo by Vainus Anamoly
Tattoo by Vainus Anamoly @vainius.art
Colour Tattoo of a Skull with a Skill within the Eye by Vainus Anamoly
Tattoo by Vainus Anamoly @vainius.art
Colour Tattoo of a Skull with a moon in the Eye socket by Vainus Anamoly
Tattoo by Vainus Anamoly @vainius.art

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here